About

Phoenix Leadership Staff

Position Name E-Mail Address
EMS Program Director/CEO Ruben Major, Paramedic, M.A. rmajor@emsuniversity.com
BLS Program Director Jennifer Major, NREMR, B.A.S. jmajor@emsuniversity.com
EMS Program Director Michael Gendreau, NREMT-P, B.A., B.S. mgendreau@emsuniversity.com
Medical Director Joshua Zeidler, D.O. jzeidler@emsuniversity.com
BLS Program Manager Johnathan Thompson, EMT jthompson@emsuniversity.com
EMS Program Manager Alan Burk, NREMT-P, A.A.S. aburk@emsuniversity.com
Administrative Lead Victoria Yu vyu@emsuniversity.com
Lead Instructor Tony Fornaro, Paramedic afornaro@emsuniversity.com
Lead Instructor Christopher Noorda, NREMT-B, B.S. cnoorda@emsuniversity.com

Tucson Leadership Staff

Position Name E-Mail Address
EMS Program Director Michael Gendreau, NREMT-P, B.A., B.S. mgendreau@emsuniversity.com
EMS Program Manager Alan Burk, NREMT-P, A.A.S. aburk@emsuniversity.com
BLS Program Manager Johnathan Thompson, EMT jthompson@emsuniversity.com
Faculty Manager Barbara Wise, Paramedic, Ed.D. bwise@emsuniversity.com

San Diego Leadership Staff

Position Name E-Mail Address
EMS Program Director, Clinical Coordinator, & BLS Program Manager Courtney Scheck, EMT, RN, B.A. cscheck@emsuniversity.com
Administrative Assistant Holly Gibbard, B.A. hgibbard@emsuniversity.com

San Antonio Leadership Staff

Position Name E-Mail Address
BLS/EMS Program Manager Pamela Register, Licensed Paramedic pregister@emsuniversity.com
Administrative Assistant Holly Gibbard, B.A. hgibbard@emsuniversity.com

Location & Staff Information Nationwide

Phoenix Courses Offered

Tucson Courses Offered

San Diego Courses Offered

San Antonio Courses Offered


We are a team of certified Paramedics with extensive hands-on experience in performing actual CPR. We started the company in 2003 with a vision of improving CPR education worldwide. Initially, there were many doubts regarding the online education environment and its utilization for emergency skills and other healthcare training, however, with the advancement of online education tools, we believe that we may assist with the delivery of instruction so much that the benefits far outweigh the detractors.

Our mission is to train and educate individuals to become the most highly skilled Emergency Medical Service professionals. Continuous quality improvement is the primary focus of our educational training program. We take every possible step to instill knowledge from our previous experience through continuous evaluation and improvement. Each member of our team participates in this process, as an open atmosphere leads to innovation, quality education, and instruction. Our students are trained to these high standards and exemplify the character of our organization after successful completion of their course or program of study.

EMS University was established in 2003 in Phoenix, Arizona. The Phoenix location is actually in Tempe, close to the center of the Phoenix Metropolitan Area. EMS University - Phoenix has been providing instruction to EMTs, the general public and healthcare professionals for Basic Life Programs. Our 3000 square foot facility and large/open classroom is ideal for students both learning how to become an EMS Provider and to become a better EMS Professional. Our programs are fun, fast paced, challenging, and rewarding. Finally, it is our desire that you feel comfortable and at home - we think of our students as family and want them to succeed in the classroom and beyond!

EMS University was established in 2010 in Tucson, Arizona. The Tucson office currently holds instructional classes for BLS and EMT Programs, including both initial EMT classes and EMT Refresher training on a quarterly basis.

EMS University was established in 2010 in San Diego, California. The program is located in Miramar, North of the MCAS. EMS University - San Diego has been providing instruction to EMTs, the general public and heathcare professionals for Basic Life Programs. In 2014, we began offering Paramedic Refresher courses and CE for all EMS providers. We are certified by the County of San Diego EMS Authority and California EMS Authority to provide CE for recertification. Additionally, we are accredited by CECBEMS to offer CE courses across the country.

EMS University - San Antonio was established in 2011. We began our company, mainly as a provider of BLS Classes, including CPR, First Aid and Bloodborne Pathogens. Early on, our focus was geared towards early childhood care providers, however, in 2013, we obtained accreditation from the Continuing Education Coordinating Board for Emergency Medical Services (CECBEMS) which has enabled us to offer Continuing Education training to EMS professionals. We currently offer the EMT Refresher course and will be offering Paramedic Refresher courses in the future.